Heimtextil Blog der Messe Frankfurt
At home in Villa Kennedy

Warm colours on the walls and floors, stylish lamps and chandeliers, lavish use here and there of decorative cushions as splashes of colour, and as a feast for the eyes – a tranquil garden with a fountain in the inner courtyard and plenty of room for enjoyment: Villa Kennedy is an elegant five-star hotel in the heart of Frankfurt and a warm place to stay for discerning frequent travellers.
“When you enter the villa, you feel as if you are in a private residence. This special atmosphere is important to us all and it’s also one that our guests particularly love. When you’re in the rooms, it’s like living in a flat – not at all like being in a hotel”, says Yasmin Michel, PR & Marketing Manager at Villa Kennedy. She describes the style of the hotel as minimalist luxury, which is characterised first and foremost by the way it makes the guests feel cosy and comfortable. Arriving, feeling good, relaxing – being at home. “It doesn’t take a red carpet or gold taps to achieve this. In this respect, we are not a classical grand hotel”, says Yasmin Michel. In Villa Kennedy there are 163 rooms in all, including 36 suites. The smallest room measures 35 square metres and has the same colour scheme and individual furnishings as all the other rooms. Lovingly and carefully arranged cushions, throws and curtains not only create a harmonious colourway in the room, but also engender a deep-down sense of well-being. Guests like this style, and this is shown by the fact that they like to buy the decorative cushions and throws for their own homes.

Family matters
The person responsible for the home textiles design and the entire interior furnishing of Rocca Forte Hotels is Olga Polizzi, the group’s Design Director. She is Sir Rocco‘s sister and has been working with him since 1996 on creating the luxury hotel empire, in which she and her brother are the main shareholders. For the furnishing of Villa Kennedy, which celebrates its 10th year in Frankfurt this year, the group has also used the London designer Martin Brudnizki as consultant. An important aspect of the interior furnishing of Rocco Forte hotels is that each one has a design connection to the place where it is located. And so, there are typical Frankfurt touches here, even in the names of the cocktails or in the hotel restaurant’s signature dish. What’s important for Olga Polizzi is the clean surface quality of the fabrics and carpets. There are no large patterns or ornaments in her interior schemes. Instead of this, Polizzi sets store by atmospheric lighting concepts using decorative lamps, and she loves mirrors. She furnishes every hotel in the group individually, with a characteristic style that reflects its location – but at the same time her signature look always shines through. In the colour scheme, lamps, furniture and cushions: the Englishwoman’s style is unmistakeable.

And what about the president?
The elegant villa, which was built in 1901 for a Frankfurt banker, does indeed bear its name as a mark of respect for President John F Kennedy. He visited Frankfurt in 1963, he signed the city’s Golden Book and he drove along the street, which was formerly known as Forsthausstraße. After his death in the same year, the citizens of Frankfurt renamed this street ‘Kennedyallee’ in his honour. The building has belonged to the Rocco Forte group for 10 years now. Currently, John F. Kennedy can even be seen in the hotel again because the contemporary artist Axel Crieger has put on an exhibition of well-known American Greats here. For the second time now, striking black and white photo collages of Marilyn Monroe, Audrey Hepburn and JFK himself adorn the lobby and the public areas of the hotel. Crieger’s art works were so popular with the guests before, that the hotel management is putting them on show in Villa Kennedy for a second time, on the occasion of the hotel’s 10th birthday.

Rocco Forte hotels:
In addition to Villa Kennedy, the Rocco Forte portfolio currently includes Hotel Amigo in Brussels, Hotel Astoria in St Petersburg, The Balmoral in Edinburgh, Brown‘s Hotel in London, Hotel de Russie in Rome, Hotel Savoy in Florence, Hotel de Rome in Berlin, the Charles Hotel in Munich and the golf & spa hotel, Verdura Resort, in Sicily.

Kerstin Böhning

Kerstin Böhning

Beitrag teilen

Destination Frankfurt #1

Zuhause in der Villa Kennedy

Warme Farben auf Wänden und Böden, stilvolle Lampen und Lüster, großzügiger Einsatz von Deko-Kissen als Farbtupfer und Augenweide hier und da – im Innenhof ein stiller Garten mit Brunnen und viel Raum für Genuss: die Villa Kennedy ist ein stilvolles fünf Sterne Hotel im Herzen Frankfurts und gleichzeitig ein warmes Zuhause für anspruchsvolle Vielreisende.
„Wenn man die Villa betritt, fühlt man sich wie in einem Privathaus. Diese besondere Stimmung ist uns allen sehr wichtig und wird auch von unseren Gästen besonders geliebt. In den Zimmern wohnt es sich wie in einer Wohnung – gar nicht so sehr wie in einem Hotel“, sagt Yasmin Michel, PR & Marketing Manager der Villa Kennedy. Den Stil des Hauses beschreibt sie als minimalistischen Luxus, der sich vor allem dadurch definiert, ein heimeliges Gefühl bei den Gästen zu schaffen. Ankommen, wohlfühlen, entspannen – zu Hause sein. „Dazu braucht es keinen roten Teppich oder goldene Wasserhähne. Wir sind in dieser Hinsicht kein klassisches Grandhotel“, sagt Yasmin Michel. Insgesamt gibt es in der Villa Kennedy 163 Zimmer, davon 36 Suiten. Das kleinste Zimmer hat 35 Quadratmeter und das gleiche farbliche Arrangement und individuelle Ausstattung wie alle anderen Zimmer auch. Liebevoll und sorgfältig arrangierte Kissen, Plaids und Gardinen schaffen nicht nur eine farbliche Harmonie im Raum. Sie sorgen für ein ganz grundsätzliches Wohlbefinden. Dass die Gäste diesen Stil mögen, zeigt sich auch darin, dass sie die Deko-Kissen und Plaids gerne für Ihr privates Zuhause kaufen.

Familienangelegenheiten
Verantwortlich für das heimtexile Design und die gesamte Inneneinrichtung der Rocco Forte Hotels ist Olga Polizzi, Director of Design der Gruppe. Sie ist eine Schwester Sir Roccos und arbeitet seit 1996 mit ihm an der Erschaffung des Luxushotelunternehmens, bei dem sie und ihr Bruder Hauptaktionäre sind. Für die Einrichtung der Villa Kennedy, die in diesem Jahr 10jähriges Bestehen in Frankfurt feiert, hat sich die Gruppe zusätzlich vom Londoner Designer Martin Brudnizki beraten lassen. Wichtiger Aspekt der Inneneinrichtung der Rocco Forte Häuser ist der jeweils individuelle Bezug zur Destination. Und so findet man typisch Frankfurter Momente auch in den Namen der Cocktails oder im Signature Dish des hauseigenen Restaurants wieder. Für Olga Polizzi spielt die reine Oberflächenqualität der Stoffe und Teppiche eine bedeutende Rolle. Große Muster oder Ornamente finden in ihrer Einrichtung nicht statt. Vielmehr liegt Polizzi großen Wert auf stimmungsvolle Lichtkonzepte mit dekorativen Lampen und sie liebt Spiegel. Jedes Haus der Gruppe richtet sie individuell mit einem dem Ort geschuldeten Duktus ein – gleichzeitig ist die Handschrift der Designerin immer wieder zu erkennen. Farbgestaltung, Lampen, Möbel, Kissen: der Stil der Engländerin ist unverkennbar.

Und der Präsident?
Ihren Namen trägt die elegante, 1901 als Anwesen eines Frankfurter Bankiers gebaute Villa tatsächlich zu Ehren von Präsident John F Kennedy. Dieser war 1963 zu Besuch in Frankfurt, trug sich in das goldene Buch der Stadt ein und fuhr über die ehemalige Forsthausstraße. Ihm zu Ehren nannten die Frankfurter diese Straße nach seinem Tod im gleichen Jahr „Kennedyallee“. Seit 10 Jahren gehört das Haus nun zur Rocco Forte Gruppe. John F. Kennedy kann man derzeit sogar – wieder – im Hotel sehen, denn der zeitgenössische Künstler Axel Crieger stellt dort seine Werke bekannter amerikanischer Größen aus. Markante schwarz-weiß Fotocollagen von Marylin Monroe, Audrey Hepburn und eben JFK schmücken die Lobby und die öffentlichen Bereiche des Hotels nun schon zum zweiten Mal. Die Werke von Crieger waren so beliebt bei den Gästen, dass die Direktion sie nun anlässlich des zehnten Geburtstages ein zweites Mal in der Villa Kennedy ausstellt.

Rocco Forte Hotels:
Neben der Villa Kennedy gehören derzeit das Hotel Amigo in Brüssel, das Hotel Astoria in Sankt Petersburg, The Balmoral in Edinburgh, Brown‘s Hotel in London, das Hotel de Russie in Rom, das Hotel Savoy in Florenz, das Hotel de Rome in Berlin, The Charles Hotel in München und das Verdura Golf & Spa Resort auf Sizilien zum Portfolio der Rocco Forte Hotels.

Kerstin Böhning

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

*