Heimtextil Blog der Messe Frankfurt

Throughout the textile industry, sustainability is becoming more than just a buzzword. Environmentally friendly alternatives to products and services we rely on are in high demand. Yet within the interiors sector and beyond, it’s evident we’ve lost touch with not only how a product is made, but also where its source materials come from. And today’s consumers want answers.

Header photo: Circular Fibres by Charlotte Cazals, which will be part of the ‘Remade Materials’ exhibition.

Our need to know what we take from nature, and importantly, what we put back, is explored in the Future Materials Library at Heimtextil 2020. Located in the Trend Space and curated by Kate Franklin and Caroline Till of FrankinTill Studios, the Heimtextil Trend Council members seek to address this disconnection via the installation by showcasing leading approaches to sustainable material innovation.

‘Hey Jute’ by Alexander Marinus, which will be part of the ‘Natural Assets’ exhibition. Photo by Alexandra Bertels.

“If you consider holistically where materials have come from, the processes and transformation you put them through, and where they will go after use, the social and environmental impact of our products can be totally redesigned,” explain the duo. The resulting installation is designed to reveal the evolution for each sample: from the raw material and its origins, to the material in the manufacturing process, and the final, refined material sample and its potential afterlife.

Featuring work from international textile artists and studios, the Library will include up to 30 materials based on four exhibition themes.

‘Remade materials’ ponder whether today’s waste is tomorrow’s raw material, whereas ‘Biological by-products’ query whether human and animal waste can be explored as an abundant, sustainable material resource.

‘Natural assets’ finds agile and inventive ways to harvest naturally abundant materials by finding resilient crops as alternatives to resources currently used and facing near extinction.

Finally, ‘Living materials’ explores whether we can ‘grow’ materials rather than ‘make them’, using on engineering innovation to create entirely new materials such as lab grown leathers from mycelium and bacteria.

‘Malai’, a newly developed biocomposite material and part of the ‘Living Materials’ exhibition.

While around 10 to 20 per cent of the materials shown are at the stage of independent design research, approximately 80 to 90 per cent are currently commercially viable products. For Heimtextil visitors, the Library offers an encouraging deep dive as to what materials might be possible to use in a not so distant future. “We need a better, smarter, more cyclical approach, in contrast to our current linear ‘take, make, discard’ relationship with materials – and a new future seems to be within our reach,” confirms Kate.

The New Age of Trichology von Sanne Visser ist Teil der Ausstellung „Biological By-products“. Foto: Tom Mannion.
Stefan Jakob

Beitrag teilen

Heimtextil Blog der Messe Frankfurt

Nachhaltigkeit in der Textilindustrie ist dabei, mehr als ein Modewort zu werden. Umweltfreundliche Alternativen zu Produkten und Dienstleistungen sind sehr gefragt. Doch im Interieurbereich und darüber hinaus wird es offensichtlich, dass die Branche den Bezug zu dem Ursprung der Produkte, ihrer Produktionsweise und den Ausgangsmaterialien verloren hat. Und die Verbraucher von heute wollen Antworten.

Headerfoto: Circular Fibres von Charlotte Cazals ist Teil der Ausstellung „Remade Materials“.

Der Frage, was die Industrie der Natur entnimmt und was sie ihr zurückgibt, geht die Future Materials Library auf der Heimtextil 2020 auf den Grund. Platziert im Trend Space und kuratiert von den Heimtextil Trend Council Mitgliedern Kate Franklin und Caroline Till von FranklinTill Studios thematisiert eine Installation dies durch die Präsentation von nachhaltigen Materialinnovationen.

“Hey Jute” von Alexander Marinus ist Teil der Ausstellung “Natural Assets”. Foto: Alexandra Bertels.

„Wenn man mit einer ganzheitlichen Perspektive überlegt, woher Materialien stammen, welche Prozesse und Transformationen sie durchlaufen und wo sie nach der Gebrauchsphase landen, können wir die sozialen und ökologischen Auswirkungen unserer Produkte völlig neu gestalten“, erklärt das Duo. Die daraus entstandene Installation zeigt die Entwicklung eines jeden Samples auf: vom Rohstoff und seiner Entstehung über das Material im Herstellungsprozess bis hin zur endgültigen, verfeinerten Materialprobe und dem Verbleib nach dem Gebrauch. Basierend auf den vier Ausstellungsthemen werden in der Bibliothek bis zu 30 Materialien von Arbeiten internationaler Textilkünstler und -studios zu sehen sein.

„Remade Materials“ spielt mit dem Gedanken, ob der Abfall von heute der Rohstoff von morgen ist, während „Biological by-products“ die Frage aufwirft, ob menschlicher und tierischer Abfall als nachhaltige Ressource genutzt werden können.

„Natural assets“ findet agile und originelle Wege, um natürlich verfügbare Materialien zu nutzen und widerstandsfähige Pflanzenkulturen als Alternativen zu den derzeit verwendeten und vor dem Aussterben bedrohten Ressourcen zu finden.

„Living Materials“ untersucht unterdessen, wie wir Materialien „anbauen“ anstatt „herstellen“ können. Um völlig neue Stoffe, wie im Labor gezüchtetes Leder aus Myzelien und Bakterien, zu entwickeln, kommen dabei auch technische Innovationen zum Einsatz.

“Malai”, ein neu entwickeltes Biokompositmaterial, ist Teil der Ausstellung “Living Materials”.

Rund 10 bis 20 Prozent der gezeigten Materialien befinden sich noch in der Entwicklungsphase, doch bei 80 bis 90 Prozent handelt es sich um bereits kommerziell tragfähige Produkte. Heimtextil-Besuchern bietet die Bibliothek einen ermutigenden Ausblick, welche Materialien in nicht allzu ferner Zukunft verwendet werden können. „Wir brauchen einen besseren, intelligenten und kreislauffähigen Ansatz anstatt unserer derzeitigen „Take, Make, Discard“-Mentalität gegenüber Materialien – diese neue Zukunft scheint ganz nah zu sein“, sagt Kate.

The New Age of Trichology von Sanne Visser ist Teil der Ausstellung „Biological By-products“. Foto: Tom Mannion.
Stefan Jakob

Beitrag teilen