Patternsfrom Agency Finland

Creativity and business savvy times two

Jenni Moberg and Kristiina Tergujeff look like sisters. But they aren’t. The two Finns have, however, known each other since childhood and, over the last seven years, they have developed this friendship into a very clever business model. At their Patternsfrom Agency, the two women represent selected Finnish textile designers in the marketing process. They currently have nine designers in their portfolio, each with a signature style that complements that of the others well. “As far as possible, we select partners who will not compete with one another,” explains Kristiina.

She is responsible for the artistic direction at Patternsfrom – whilst Jenni is the business woman. She speaks fluent Japanese and that is just as well, since there is an excellent fit between the Finns and the Japanese, when it comes to good design. The two women have a very down-to-earth and friendly approach, when it comes to negotiating user licences for the designers they represent. They stipulate exactly what the licences are given for and for how long, as well as what licensees may or may not change about the design.

Patternsfrom partners can, at all events, rely on their ‘Agents’. Up to now the two women have accepted only Finnish designers in their portfolio, although they have already had a number of enquiries from abroad. “We know the ropes in Finland really well. It’s what we stand for – and we want to show the world just how much our country has to offer,” says Jenni. Jenni and Kristiina act as key ‘translators’ or coaches for their clients, explaining to them how to operate on the international scene and successfully representing them there. The designers can thus devote themselves entirely to their work. Two outstandingly likeable women and a clever concept, which is so far unique in Finland.

 

For those who want to know more: Hall 3.0, Stand D 17.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Patternsfrom Agency Finland

Kreativität und Geschäftstüchtigkeit mal zwei

Jenni Moberg und Kristiina Tergujeff sehen aus wie Schwestern. Sind sie aber nicht. Die beiden Finninnen kennen sich allerdings seit ihrer Kindheit und dieses Miteinander haben sie seit sieben Jahren um ein sehr kluges Geschäftsmodell erweitert. Mit Patternsfrom Agency vertreten die beiden Frauen ausgewählte finnische Textildesigner in der Vermarktung. Im aktuellen Portfolio sind neun Designerinnen und Designer, die sich in ihrer Handschrift gut ergänzen. „Wir suchen unsere Partner wenn es geht so aus, dass sie sich gegenseitig keine Konkurrenz machen“, erzählt Kristiina.

Sie ist in Patternsfrom für die künstlerische Leitung verantwortlich – während Jenni die Business-Frau ist. Sie spricht fließend Japanisch und das ist gut so, denn ganz offensichtlich gibt es zwischen Finnen und Japanern eine große Passung, wenn es um gutes Design geht. Die beiden Frauen haben einen sehr bodenständigen und sympathischen Ansatz, was die Verhandlungen der Nutzungsrechte für die von ihnen vertretenden Designer angeht. Hier wird sehr genau festgehalten, für was genau die Rechte vergeben werden, wie lange und was am Entwurf eventuell verändert werden darf.

Die Partner von Patternsfrom jedenfalls können sich voll auf ihre „Agentinnen“ verlassen. Bislang nehmen die beiden Frauen nur finnische Designer in ihr Portfolio auf, obwohl es auch Anfragen aus dem Ausland gibt. „In Finnland kennen wir uns super aus. Dafür stehen wir und wir möchten der Welt zeigen, was unser Land alles zu bieten hat“, sagt Jenni. Für ihre Netzwerkpartner sind Jenni und Kristiina wichtige „Übersetzerinnen“ oder Coaches, die ihnen die internationalen Vorgehensweisen erklären und sie dort bestens vertreten. Die Designer können sich ganz ihrer Arbeit widmen, während die beiden die Vermarktung übernehmen. Zwei unglaublich sympathische Frauen und ein kluges Konzept, das in Finnland bislang einzigartig ist.

 

Wer mehr wissen möchte: Halle 3.0, Stand D 17.

 

 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

*